Pumpkin pancakes with a special sauce


Yummy pumpkin breakfast goodness.

Your family wants you to make these for breakfast. They told me so.

As soon as the weather turns chilly, even if it’s late August, I immediately want something with pun’kin. These fit the bill for a weekend breakfast.

This pancake batter is thick, almost biscuit-like. If you’re normally a four-pancake eater, you might be able to stuff two of these down. These pancakes have a dense cakey texture, and they are oh so good.

What’s that goop on top you ask? That is pumpkin maple sauce. It’s very easy to make and has the consistency of applesauce. Top these puppies off with some pecans and you’re good to go.

I’m not sure where I found this recipe originally, but I’ve had it for a few years. I must have picked it up in a publication of some kind because it’s widely circulated on blogs on the Internet. I found a variation where the blogger added about 3/4 cup more milk, which I supposed would thin the batter down, but I think that takes away from the “stick to your ribs” quality of the pancakes.

Anyway, without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Pumpkin pancakes with pumpkin maple sauce

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 2 Tbsps. brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (I use about a tsp. cinnamon and shake in clove, nutmeg and ginger to taste.)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup pureed or canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp. oil
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 nuts of your choice (optional. I save mine and just sprinkle them on top.)

Mix together your dry ingredients and then add the wet. Stir well and drop by 1/4 cup fulls onto hot skillet or griddle that’s been treated with cooking spray or oil. You may have to spread the batter around to get a flatter pancake. After a minute or two, check to see if the bottom is a golden brown, then flip.

Pumpkin maple sauce

  • 1 cup maple or pancake syrup
  • 1 1/4 cup pureed or canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Mix together. It’s really good if you warm it up in the microwave before serving.

Enjoy!

~ Julie

5 responses

  1. Oh Wow! These do look good. Here’s a heads-up to all you pumpkin lovers. For the second, perhaps third year in a row, my grocery stores (Publix and Winn Dixie) have only had canned pumpkin in the fall. I can’t find it the rest of the year. So now I buy in bulk, about 12 large cans which gets me through the year. I may buy twice that much this year because I heard on CNN that there’s a pumpkin shortage because of drought, rain, and the northeast hurricane. ???? Always something!!!

  2. Pingback: Christmas on the Cheap: Mix it up « Outtakes on the Outskirts

Leave a Reply

