Recipes – Pita bread and hummus


Murphy’s Law would have it that an amazing Greek restaurant would open in my hometown after I moved out of it. It’s just how Murphy rolls.

Forget the restaurant, make your own!

I visit Gyro and Kabob as often as I can when I’m in my old stomping grounds. After one visit, I was addicted to their hummus. I spend weeks craving it with all of my being until I make the hour drive back home. It’s that good and is full of garlicky goodness. (Is that even a word?)

But because gas is approaching “arm and a leg” costs again, I can’t just drive over to the restaurant every weekend. I’ve tried a few pita bread and hummus recipes before, but I never found one that was as crave-able as store versions. That changed this weekend.

This pita bread recipe will give you light, fluffy pitas like you’d find in Greek restaurants. The hummus is smooth, cheap and easy to make, and is delicious.

Want to try them? Here are the links:

The Best Hummus recipe from Food.com

Pita Bread from About.com

A few notes about these recipes:

  • For the hummus, you’ll need tahini (ground sesame seed paste). In my rural area, I found it at Giant Eagle. It was a little pricey, ($7 or so), but that jar will make several batches of hummus.
  • When I make the hummus again, I will use my homemade plain yogurt instead of the sour cream. The sour cream doesn’t taste awful, but I can tell it’s in there. To me, it sticks out as a flavor.
  • Use freshly squeezed lemon juice and just-minced garlic in the hummus. It really does make a difference!
  • I did not briefly fry the pita in oil in the photo above simply because it was late and I wanted to go to bed.

Do you have a favorite Greek recipe? Please share!

2 responses

  1. Sour cream???? I have never had humus with either sour cream or yogurt….
    I would exchange that for a nice dose of extra virgin olive oil :-), also, when you serve it, spread it flat in a dish a throw some olive oil on top, and if you can get them, some pine nuts.

Leave a Reply

